Smooth Jazz Recommendations?

I’ve been listening to a lot of Fourplay, jeff Lorber, Euge Groove lately. Any good Smooth Jazz recommendations?

1 Like

Latest Phil Perry album is good. Stretching the envelope a little Lindsey Webster is absolutely fabulous. From the genre classics the Joe Sample and Randy Crawford collaboration is a must.

Personally I need some RnB or soul in my smooth jazz to make it interesting. If you want to head that way Norman Connors could be worth a listen.

Please share what you find. Always interested in finding new directions for my listening.

1 Like

I have been listening to Fourplay for many years…these guys are an all-star group that provide well recorded quality tracks!

Some other great Smooth Jazz favs…One of the things I like about Smooth Jazz is that most of the artists are really well recorded…I am huge headphone guy so I really appreciate well recorded music!

Boney James!!! R&B Soul!!! Everyone one of his albums rock! Mostly Sax instrumentals
The Rippingtons, Spyro Gyra, Lee Ritenour, Diana Krall, Dave Grusin, Film & the BB’s, Candy Dulfer, this Gal can really play the Sax!, Steve Oliver,

Let me know if you’d like more suggestions!

I am a jazz fan but more of stratight ahead(?). Labels problematic!
Early smooth to me favorite in the Michael Franks era:

Artists to explore:
Grover Washington Jr.
Dave Sanborn
Gerald Albright
George Benson
Jeff Lorber

The Rippingtons’ ‘Fountain of Youth’ gives the system a good workout.

Also, ‘6 String Theory’ by Lee Ritenour is excellent.

6 string theory is not what I would call smooth jazz :wink:

Russ

Lee Ritenour is a Smooth Jazz performer.

Am I Wrong,
L.P (for Les Paul,
My One and Only,
Moon River,
Daddy Longlicks,
Shape of my Heart,
Drifting, and,
Legnani…

On ‘6 String Theory’ are Smooth Jazz tracks (while the rest are more Jazz Fusion).

Agreed as in Fourplay for example, but not that album IMHO.

Russ