Software shouldn't call attention to itself, I notice Roon too much. Is Nucleus more Reliable?

Core Machine

Mac mini, Mid 2011, MacOS 10.12.60 8GB memory; Roon build 783

Description Of Issue

I have been using Roon for several years, with different configurations. I find it both unavoidably usual and irritating. My feelings about v 1.8 are mixed, but the update is not my issue.

For the entire time I have used Roon I have found myself having to coax it along.

Although I intended to run the MacMini headless, I have ended up with a small monitor continually connected to it, because the remote would suddenly start looking for the core, and I would have to go to the monitor to fiddle with it. I would restart Roon or restart the computer, invoke magical spells and so forth. It would start working, often for reasons that I missed, but somehow it restarted. I have been working with personal computers on more or less a daily basis, and I am fairly good at keeping these infernal machines working, but my experience with Roon is strange. Typically one has a problem with a piece of software, figures out the problem and it goes away. Sometimes Roon will behave well for a couple of month, and then every second or third time I want to listen to some music, it causes trouble.

Recently I have been thinking I might buy a Roon Nucleus. I am at an age at which I am not as patient has I used to be, and I thought it might be more consistent. I am stopped by the fact that, if the remote fails to find the Nucleus, I have no computer to fiddle with.

I would like to hear you thoughts.

Thanks, Don

Hi Don,

Moved to the Nucleus thread since you do not have a support issue and this is the space better suited to your question.

The Nucleus is a computer, but, you do not have access to the internals or anything to “fiddle with”. You can achieve similar by using a NUC and installing ROCK. RoonOS is based on Linux.