Some Words regarding Support & Service in connection with Build 880/882/884

I am one of the probably many “corrupted core database” victims of the last Build 880/882/884 update. With more than 10,000 well-maintained albums including changed metadata, I am not willing to just start with a fresh database. I am not a programmer, when I buy a database solution I expect the software manufacturer to understand his job and take it seriously. I don’t need every design update. For me it is important that the software works reliably. As a user, I also have duties, e.g. to take care of system security and backups. I do that continuously.

Now that the roles are clear, I will record the current status: We all have received an automatic update. On my mobile phone I have got used to installing updates 3 weeks later. But not with Roon. Since the update I have to reboot my NUC-Roon every 45 minutes because the system tells me, “There was an issue loading your database”. Unfortunately, importing one of the previous backups so that the loss of data is limited does not help. For me that means: Either the file format of Build 880 is completely different and does not go well with the old one, or the database has been inconsistent for a longer time.

It is unacceptable for Roonlabs to shift responsibility to its paying users in such a situation. In this situation, it is unfair, as has happened in some cases, to accuse your customers of having caused this problem with their hardware themselves. And it is unprofessional not to implement a clear communication strategy in such a situation.