Sound quality of Qobuz via Roon vs Qobuz direct

Hi All,

Sorry id this is a really stupid question, I am a Roon newbie on a two week trial and am struggling to get my head around it.

I have a Cambridge Audio EVO 150 which acts as streamer, DAC, pre-amp and amp. It drives a pair of ATC SMC19 speakers and when I use its inbuilt Qobuz integration to stream HiRes audio it sound pretty damned good.

Yesterday I installed Roon on an iMac Pro in a nearby room. None of this stuff is hardwired by Ethernet but I have a good WiFi mesh and stream with very few if any dropouts.

If I play a HiRes track ‘direct’ (inbuilt Qobuz in the EVO) and then play the exact same recording via Roon, the front panel of the EVO gives me the exact same KHz and bit rate information so they should sound identical but they don’t. The Roon stream sounds less good.

Now I don’t know if, when streaming using Roon, the Roon Core is basically telling my EVO to get its stream direct from Qobuz or whether the Core is getting the stream and then casting it via WiFi to the EVO. I am guessing it is the latter.

In which case I assume that the casting is, like Chromecast or Airplay, in some way limited?

Any ideas people might have, I’d be very grateful

TIA.

1 Like

The usual volume difference. Even if the difference is small enough to not being recognized, our ear fools us and we thing louder sounds better, because we hear more details. Eleminate the volume difference and both will sound the same (or in a rare case your device has a defect).

10 Likes

It is neither. The audio is streamed to the Roon core, processed into PCM and the PCM is sent to the endpoint.

You should make sure that you are choosing the Cambridge Audio under the Roon Ready section of Settings/Audio, not Chromecast or Airplay. You might post a pic of Settings/Audio so we can see how it is setup.