SPDIF into a Naim UnitiQute2 - Add a RPI Endpoint or Upgrade the USB from my NAS?

I’ve been running Roon on a Synology NAS 916+ for a few months now and love it. My UnitiQute2 is far from ‘Roon Ready’ so I resurrected an old USB SPDIF/coax converter (M2tech HiFace 2) from a previous setup and run it from the NAS USB port to the UnitiQute2 via a QED coax cable.

The system runs floorlessly with no dropouts etc, but I have a niggling suspicion I could improve the sound from that ‘noisy’ USB port on the NAS. In an ideal world Naim would release a firmware update that makes the UnitiQute a Roon endpoint, but their last update on this streamer was 2015 so I’m not holding my breath.

Should I try to improve the USB signal with conditioners like the Jitterbug or iPurifier, or am I better moving the Roon endpoint onto another device?

The new Allo Digione RPI player sounds like good value and about the same price as a USB conditioner. It’s not the kind of gear you get to try in your local Hi-Fi store so keen to hear experiences and learnings out there.

I’m using RPi-hiFiberry Digi + through coax into Superuniti, very pleased with the sound and has the added advantage of giving me AirPlay as well.

I use dietpi on the RPi.

.sjb

2 Likes

It is extremely unlikely that the UQ2 will ever be made Roon Ready; Naim have a new line in all-in-one players out now and their development focus is sure to be in this area.

I use the Sonore UPNP Bridge from my sonicTransporter i5 to get tunes to my UQ2 over my network and it works fine.

The nice thing about a Raspberry Pi-based Roon endpoint is that it is rather cheap (in comparison).
So I would suggest: just try it out.

Thanks all - I think I’ll try the Raspberry PI endpoint with a Digione HAT to see if it sounds better. There are lots of other uses for RPIs if not :grinning:

2 Likes