Squeezebox vs Roon Bridge

I’m new to Roon, coming from LMS and a plethora of Squeezeboxes, both authentic and of the Linux+Squeezelite variety.

If I’ve understood the terminology correctly, a native Roon player is known as Roon Bridge? I have some confusion over whether Roon Bridge is the same thing as RAAT.

Anyway, I’m wondering if there’s any point in me turning the various Raspberry Pi and Cubox machines I have into Roon Bridge machines, and leaving behind Squeezebox? Do we Squeezeboxers lose anything to what the Roon Bridge guys get?

Thanks,

Simon

RoonBridge is the ‘receiver’ software; RAAT is the protocol for sending audio. You may want to read this article on its design philosophy in the knowledge base. The part about clock ownership is particularly interesting:

https://kb.roonlabs.com/RAAT

1 Like

I’m a long-time Squeezebox user. Started using Roon last year, with a Squeezebox as end-point thanks to Roon supporting it.

But in the holidays I’ve put it away. Definite move to Roon, with a Raspberry Pi 3 acting as end-point. Although Roon’s support for the Squeezebox is excellent, I had problems with high res content.

For me it’s simple: Roon is the first solution that I’ve come to know that is at least as capable and user friendly as the Squeezebox eco system. But it’s time to move on: Roon’s future looks promising!

1 Like

If you are a keen Spotify user and enjoy the touch screen interface then you will miss these.

1 Like

Well I had a lazy Sunday to spend fiddling around, so I moved my Cubox and Raspberry Pi 3 to Roon instead of Squeezebox. I don’t really see any particular benefit, but I guess I’m “more Roon” now.

2 Likes

I am enjoying my squeezeboxes very much with Roon and am very much looking forward to the imminent (so they say) 1.3 update.

I believe the team have had to add text display support for another device, so our squeezeboxes will benefit from this in this update.