Unable to ssh to RopieeeXL device

@spockfish Hi, I’ve been enjoying using Ropieeexl on an Allo BOSS device for a few months, although I don’t use it all the time - I have another setup used for my main listening, although actually the quality from the Allo with Ropieee is indistinguishable to my ears from my much more expensive streamer / DAC combination.

However, I noticed today (on the current 2.596 version) that I’m no longer able to ssh into Ropieee. It is probably several weeks since I last tried this but it simply responds with Permission denied, please try again. to the password. I’m assuming that it should still be username / password : root / root as before.

Everything else is working fine - the web interface, playing from Roon and Shairport.

user: root
password: ropieee

That’s it. Just shows how long it was since I last logged in with SSH that I’d forgotten what the password was.

Thanks Marin.

Can I hop on this thread to ask why a person would need to control their Raspberry Pi remotely with SSH?

I will do some digging, certainly. And I’m sure there are all kinds of things a person can do from a programmer’s perspective.

But I’d love to know what a Roon-specific user might use SSH for.

It changed from root a few months or more back

In my case, really just for curiosity, as one doesn’t want to interfere as that could mess up the software horribly. I think that occasionally for debugging reasons, the Ropieee developer has asked people to use ssh to run a few commands to sort out problems with updates. However, for most users, the answer is probably to keep out. I’ve been a long time computer geek and Unix/Linux user and so like to see what is running and how much memory / storage is being used.

1 Like

thanks, yeah, I’ve done some web app development in the past, but I tend to be a “don’t break what’s working” kind of guy.

How to enable SSH in Ropieee XL?