Undecoded MQA is demonstrably lower fidelity than redbook

Whilst nobody can argue against your subjective preference, undecoded MQA is demonstrably lower fidelity than redbook. Not that I have a problem with someone enjoying that. People like cassette tape, after all.

But please don’t decry mp3 for the very same reasons.

I’ve followed your posts, respect your opinion, and know you have a sound basis for this opinion. So please educate me on why you think this is so.

For example let’s narrow the field to recent new recordings that used MQA:

Wouldn’t someone listening to undecoded MQA experience the de-blurring done by the MQA ADC?

Then for older digital recordings with a known ADC, wouldn’t MQA’s remastering algorithms provide some de-blurring benefit compared to the original redbook?

I’m not a recording engineering nor an employee of any audio enterprise. Just an old guy with bad hearing who likes to listen to music instead of tinnitus.

This has been covered further up the topic, which I will admit has been long and meandering to say the least!

The compatible portion of the MQA signal is equivalent to about 13 to 15 bits at a sample rate of 44.1 kHz or 48 kHz. The loss of resolution is due to down sampling, dither noise, and pseudo-random noise from the high-frequency compression channel which occupies the lower 8 to 11 bits.

Again, I have no issue with someone listening and preferring the output. (I’m a SET amp owner, and am under no illusions that euphonic colouration plays a large part in my preference for it.)

On undecoded MQA? I don’t see how it could.

1 Like

Can you really hear that?
I read that point a lot, but in my comparisions I never could sense a noticable blur in a redbook format file.
So for me the whole de-blurring argument is only a marketing bubble (like so many others I hear in audio gadget promotions in the last 20 years).

1 Like

Clearly Bob Stuart’s statement is incorrect then?