Used Nucleus vs Synology NAS

I have the opportunity to pick up a used Nucleus and was wondering if there would be any performance enhancement versus the Synology DS 1019+ that I’ve been using with Roon for over three years.

TIA

PS - also price range for a used Nucleus?

1 Like

What level nucleus are you getting?

1 Like

Nucleus. Not plus i3.

1 Like

Not the same but, I run a Nuc i7 and it destroys the performance of my Synology NAS. Truth be told, it’s an older NAS.
Plus it relieves the processing burden from the Synology. I wouldn’t go back for that reason alone

2 Likes

I’m in the opposite camp - RS3617xs + RX1217.
Have no need for a Nucleus.

As to @Jerry_Zigmont’s original question, I don’t expect an i3 Nucleus (Roon is tight lipped about which model of CPU is in there) has phenomenally greater processing power than the Celeron J3455 equipped DS1019+. Also with a Nucleus, it depends on whether you want to keep your music on the NAS or store it locally. If you want to keep your music on the NAS (Roon doesn’t recommend this with a Nucleus), I’d stick with the NAS. If you’re considering keeping your music also on the Nucleus, then you need a solid backup strategy (assuming you already have one with the NAS).

It’s not a straight forward question. Also, with a used unit, how hard has it been used, and how much of the internal SSD’s potential lifespan is left?

3 Likes

Solid advice, Graeme. This is what I was hoping for. I will stay where I am since I have had no trouble with the Synology.

Just looking on the other side of the fence.

2 Likes

You’d be wrong. The J3455 is about 30-50% of the speed in single-core performance compared to the i3 we use in the N rev B (i3-7100U).

The first Celeron we’ve seen that makes sense for most people with Roon is the J4125, and that barely makes the cut.

I’m not saying you can’t make it work, but the J3455 is not something we would recommend.