Voice Control Extension

My post about modernizing the roon SDK strayed off topic so creating a separate topic for anyone that would be interested in an extension that lets them control roon endpoints using a voice assistant like Alexa.

https://community.roonlabs.com/t/modernized-roon-sdk/201440/33

I’m new to roon and already wishing I could control playback using my voice. I have a lot of expertise in building conversational experiences so thinking I may take a crack at it. I know the roon developers attempted this and abandoned the project which I can understand. Developing conversational experiences is hard (or at least harder then it should be) and building a “good” experience for a domain as broad as music is doubly difficult. You often need the help of people that are experts in things like Language Understanding and Conversation Modeling. Fortunately I’m friends with some of the brightest minds in the world in these fields so I have plenty of smart people I can ask questions of should I get stuck. :slight_smile:

I have a day job that keeps me busy so this is a weekend project at best. My current project ships in 2 weeks so I have some free time coming up that I can work on this. If anyone is interested in collaborating or just kicking ideas around please feel free to chime in.

3 Likes

I already have some Roon control with Alexa. Not perfect - Alexa Stop usually advances to the next track. I have Sonos in several rooms and it behaves better than Roon with Alexa. That said, I would welcome proper and full control of Roon using Alexa. Not interested in any other voice control application than Alexa since it is already well established in my home.

1 Like