Wave is all I want to play

Hello.
I am new to roon.
Was a JPlay and JRiver user for 7 years.
I want to play only wave and dsd from my roon core.
How do I only play these ??
Priority for playback needs to be set as under :
DSD
WAVE
AIFF
rest…
Kindly advise.
I want to set this 1 time and not have to do it again and again.
PERMANENT.
Thanks.
MBJ

Using focus then save it as default should be one off yet semi permanent

https://kb.roonlabs.com/FAQ:_How_do_I_create_a_smart_playlist%3F_How_do_I_save_a_Focus%3F

Just add the Watch folders with just these file types either combined or separate folder.

Example 1 watch folder would be DSD, then a 2nd folder WAV, then the 3rd AIFF or you just put all of these together and Roon will sort them out.

Click Here for - Roon Watched Folders

And then you can create Smart Playlist like @Cheung_Hon_Wah has mentioned above.

-MD

1 Like

I don’t understand the question. If you only have WAV and DSD files than that’s all you can play. Roon will just pick up what’s in your folders. Am I missing something?

2 Likes

Sir, I have 12tb of music in different formats. Earlier I used to use EAC and rip in FLAC. Later I shifted to dB Power Amp and started to rip in Wave. So I have the same song in different versions
Now, I can delete all the flac I have, but am scared of loosing music. So I want to set a process in Roon, only play music in this order…
1st Preference DSD
2nd Preference WAVE
3rd Preference

So if I choose a song, it exists in several formats, Roon should choose and play in the order of my preference…

Thanks.

Bhagwan

This KB article sets out how Roon treats different versions of an album. Roon will default to the highest quality version as Primary, but you can change that in the Versions tab. Roon will play the Primary version unless some other version is selected to Play.

No, you ought to maintain your library by deleting unwanted copies… :slight_smile: