What Are My Connection Options?

OK Jim :slight_smile: How would you than connect the below? My “problem” is that I have been running the Linn/NAS “world” for more than 10 years and I don’t quit understand the “USB world” jet - have to learn :slight_smile: THX

I would definitely connect the Nucleus by ethernet and probably the other device also. If you want to do multichannel, also an HDMI cable from the Nucleus to the other device. I don’t see why USB would be involved.

@Torben_Rick - I’ve moved your post from the original thread to a new topic of its own. It was off-topic in the original place, and seemed worthy of its own topic.

Personally, my answer to your question depends on whether the device you show is Roon Ready or not.

If it is, then you should be able to simply connect it to your Home network using the ethernet port. The Nucleus would communicate with it using the RAAT protocol.

If it’s not Roon Ready, then I would connect your Nucleus directly with an HDMI cable between its HDMI A out and an HDMI In connection on your device. The Nucleus is a silent device, so you wouldn’t be troubled by fan noise in your listening room.

@Jim_F - the “other device” would need to be Roon Ready for the ethernet connection to be valid. And although the Nucleus could deliver multichannel via HDMI, the device seems to be just a stereo amp.

1 Like

Or he could use some sort of Roon bridge, I suppose.

@Geoff_Coupe - THX. My Linn Selekt DSM Surround is Roon Ready.

The same goes for my QNAP HS-264 NAS - totally silent :slight_smile:

My ““problem””: It is hard for me understand what benefits I would get by investing in a Nucleus+ compared to my current solution - I would cost me 3X to go with Nucleus+.

If the SQ would improve than I would probably go for it :slight_smile: But I am not sure that it will?

Have a nice week-end

Torben

If you have a system that’s working, why change it?