What are these 'Folders' you speak of?

I’ve been using Roon for over four years now and have never come across an option for creating a Folder of any kind.

I know that many of you have requested a Folder Browsing option but again, I have no idea what you’re talking about.

What am I missing, and do I even need to know about this? :thinking:

Do you have a local library?

Yes, I do have a small local library.

Do you know where it is stored?

My local files are stored in the internal SSD of my Nucleus.

I’m not familiar with how files are copied to the internal drive of a Nucleus, but I assume the Nucleus is managing the folders under which the library is stored for you. Most probably you don’t need folder browsing.

1 Like

Navigating to tracks using the OS file system…

Thanks for your answer. I’ll see if anyone with a Nucleus has more information for me.

Can you expand on this, because I don’t understand what you’re telling me. I’m not the most computer literate person around and that’s why I went with a Nucleus.

Imagine that you can open a Windows File Explorer or Apple Finder in Roon (or a similar file browser built into Roon), and then you can navigate to actual folders on the hard disk (locally or remotely such as the Nucleus’s SSD).

Then you could browse to any folder with music files, even if they are not properly tagged or otherwise a mess, and start them in Roon from there. And if you have some kind of elaborate folder structure, you can use this to manage your music, in addition to Roon’s current artist/album metadata-based design.

3 Likes

Thanks you @Suedkiez , that makes things a little easier for me to grasp. Having said that though, I’m not convinced that this is something I need to concern myself with.

1 Like

@NipperDog,

The debate concerns the (visual) presentation of (stored and streaming) music files on Roon’s (Library >) My Albums screen.