What is a Music Collection in this day and age?

I am new to Roon (in a trial but surely buying) and it’s gotten me organizing my music and playlists. It’s made me stop and think, what IS a music collection in the days of streaming? Does adding an album from Tidal to Roon mean it’s now part of my “collection” in life?

I have been thinking about this topic, and thinking back to how my accesing music has evolved (and stayed the same)…

Going back in time… I have had the following phases –

• radio focused (no gear, no owned music)
  • cassette mix tapes and tapes of borrowed or owned records (collection of music)
  • vinyl (timeless), although never got into it too much as I was moving around
  • CD (this was a good 10 years) - big collection of music
  • ripping CD and making my own mix CD of favorite songs
  • high quality MP3 buying and trading, organized with J. River and synced to various devices
  • Spotify (mostly playlists, over 6 years or more)
  • TIDAL (not sure how I will use it)

I have always been more song oriented than album oriented. Liking remixes and different versions of songs too. So Playlists are a natural for me. Playlist (going back in time) mark a period of my life, a party I threw, a trip I took. I wish I had them better saved and organized in retrospect.

So the “meta” question is what does it mean to have a music collection going forward? And how do you move that collection across services or media that might exist. I know for many here the physical collection of CD or record is still a big part, but then many have ripped digital copies.

I have two main uses of my collections, music for myself that I want to listen to multiple times and get a deeper understanding or appreciation, and then collections (playlists) I play (like a DJ) for other people… at my house, in my car, at a party, sets a mood, shares new music with other people. Spread the joy.