Which Roon Ready NUC should I Buy and Where From

I have a Lyngdorf TDAI 1120 with MH Speakers and BW2 sub woofers, Qobuz and Roon. I have Roon on my PC which is in a different room and it is controlled by my ipad and the TDAI 1120 is connected by ethernet to my network. As well as Qobuz I aloso have a music library on my PC which is about 250gb and I don’t see this increasing a great deal. I want to move away from using my PC and use an NUC instead and, as I am not good with tech, I want the NUC to be Roon ready so all I need to do is plug it in. My questions are:-

Which model NUC do I need to buy

Where can buy it from so that it is Roon ready with all the necessary files and software

Do I connect the TDAI 1120 directly to the NUC or should the NUC be connected to the network via an ethernet cable

Many thanks

1 Like

Based on what you are wanting, a NUC is not what you are looking for.

You are describing the Nucleus:

https://roon.app/en/nucleus

1 Like

Thanks

Then what do people use a NUC for ?

A Nucleus is out of my budget

because

A not too out of date observation -

Get at least an i5 (most people don’t need an i7), no more than a 256GB M.2 (128GB is enough but they are becoming rarer than hen’s teeth), and (since RAM is cheap) 16 GB of RAM. A NUC in a tall case will let you add an additional SSD for your music files.

Installing ROCK is easy-peasy.

Really any NUC will do for most people, so maybe the cheapest options are the best. Check out the FOR SALE section of the forum for used NUCs.

3 Likes

Thanks

How precisely would I install whatever needs installing ?

If I wanted to buy new with everything installed where would I go ?

Would the NUC be connected to my Lyngdorf or to the network ?

For general ROCK information:

That would be a Nucleus then, because the ROCK license does not allow random third-parties to sell NUCs with ROCK preinstalled.