Active / Powered Speakers + USB DAC Vs Passive Speakers + Integrated Amp with built-in DAC: what's best? Discuss

Hello folks, quite the busy, boisterous, helpful and only occasionally bitchy community you (we) got here. Wondering if any of you might help out a total newbie (both in the Roon and the audiophile fields, if I’m honest) in his attempt to build a system from scratch. I say from scratch and I mean it almost literally: having walked away from a domestic situation where I had the relative good luck to listen to my records, stream my little mp3s and apple ALACs and play my CDs all in a high-end 7.1 system that, 15 years ago, cost about three times what my budget is now, these last few months I have been reduced to my iPhone/MacBook Pro streaming to a little UE Boom via Bluetooth!

If you ask what’s any of this got to do with the company hosting these fora and how does an admittedly high-end product like Roon figure in the calculations of a pauper like myself, well, it may be putting cart before horse, as it were, but ever since I experienced Roon second-hand at a friend’s place a year ago I’ve been smitten and have determined to make it my musical home - not least because I have had a horrific experience with iTunes in the past (laying waste to my metadata, losing already bought and even ripped music files, endless talks with various flustered minions and their confounded managers in seemingly every country in Europe for over a year, no compensation but plenty of apologies) and the one thing I need more than anything, even more than a decent sound, is a music library I can control and enjoy. Roon became the inevitable choice.