Advice on moving from Windows to ROCK

Hello all,
I am currently running Roon legacy on an old laptop running Windows. I am thinking of getting a NUC or similar to run Roon Rock on. I am not that technical so apologies in advance if I am asking stupid questions, but is it possible for me to install Roon legacy on a NUC? I would prefer to continue with legacy as it has all the features I require.
In terms of the NUC I get, what are the specifications I should aim for in terms of getting a good user experience? i3/i5/i7? How much memory? I was planning on plugging a usb drive into the NUC as I currently am doing this with the laptop? Will I be able to just plug in the same drive into the NUC, or will the format be different as the operating system would change? Maybe I am better off getting a NUC with Windows installed instead? Is the user experience much the same between Windows and Rock anyway?
Another question - should the NUC be fanless? I will have the core shut in a cupboard anyway so fan noise shouldn’t be too much of an issue, but obviously the quieter the better. Also if fanless is there a greater fire risk?

Sorry for all the questions

Al

1 Like

Yes. There is no dedicated Legacy installer for ROCK as far as I can tell, but you can install 2.0 and downgrade as explained here:

Depends on the size of your library, the number of simultaneous output zones, and how much DSP you plan to use.

8 GB should suffice, 16 for large libraries.

The Windows NTFS file system works, but exFAT causes less problems.

I don’t think so. It’s another Windows machine to manage.

The Roon experience when using the remotes is the same. Generally, ROCK is different in a good way: You install it and that’s the end of any maintenance you have to do. It has just a very basic admin interface in a web browser, no other user interface.