All ROON related hardware is hardwired.

Connected Audio Devices

LAN hardwired to dCS Streamer
Wi-fi to Devialet, and other wi-if only devices

Number of Tracks in Library

5500 +/-
30.5 hours

Description of Issue

The issue occurs while streaming (not hardwired) to devices, music will stop playing for 2 to 3 seconds. It then resumes. The time between the temporary drops varies. It could be several hours, several minutes or several seconds.

I reported this earlier, but havenā€™t had any follow up from support. I work as a software engineer and as a electronics tech. I am very comfortable doing my own troubleshooting. However, it didnā€™t require any special training to find the root cause. Just good ā€˜ole fashioned poking around.

If the DSP option has volume leveling turned on, then the dropouts, the temporary pausing of music, occurs.

Turning off volume leveling and devices that are AirPlay or have Wi-Fi streaming no longer experience the dropouts.

Over a period of several months, I have turned on and off volume leveling. The results are consistent. When off, no issue and when on, music will randomly pause a couple of seconds. Keep in mind, the music may play fine for hours. If you leave the area for just a minute or are unable to hear the music, the dropout is so short, it can be easily missed.

The fault may lie within the software of the DSP codecs. Roon Labs will need to reproduce the issue and then resolve.

Until the issue is resolved by Roon Labs, I would suggest volume leveling not be used if you own a Nucleus and have experienced the issue. It is unknown at this time if this issue will manifest itself on user built hardware platforms. The issue appears to be a software glitch, but it could be that the Nucleus+ hardware isnā€™t able to process the leveling in a timely manner.

Best regards,
Tracy