Allo Boss V1.2 Info

Hi

Sorry if this is contained within another thread, but is there any info available for the upcoming Boss V1.2.

Was reading the latest Boss review by Darko Allo Boss Darko Review and as a footnote it was mentioned that a new Boss V1.2 would be out by the end of this month.

Any info on the V1.2 for someone like myself who is looking for something to enable as a Roon endpoint either in a bedroom (connect to Radio Player, mini hi-fi system) or outside under my Pergola hooked up to an AV receiver.

Also an additional question (sorry), which software is best to use with the Boss to ensure compatibility with Roon (you can tell I’m a novice at this):

• Max2Play
  • Volumio
  • DietPi
  • Ropieee
  • Other …

Cheers
John

I would (do) use Dietpi or Ropieee.

Dietpi user here.

Very well supported by Dan.

1 Like

Given your use case I think the current Boss DAC version would be more than capable, no real need to wait for the 1.2. I have a Boss DAC feeding my main system and it really is very good given the price. I use ropieee as I wanted to use the pi touch screen as a controller for roon.
No need, other than wanting the latest and best of course! :slight_smile:

1 Like

So DietPi - 2, Ropieee - 2, at least no vote to use the software the Boss comes with. Assume I can easily change between DietPi and Ropieee if I want to give each a try and see which I prefer.

Ged

Yes, the current Boss version would be ok for my needs, but the end of the month is only 2 week away so no rush and will wait and see what the Boss V1.2 comes with.

1 Like

yes easy to change, just follow the install instructions for either. If you have 2 sd cards you can burn both images and just swap the cards to try either.

1 Like

ropieee can have a deceptively long initial boot time so be patient.