Backing up USB drive on ROCK to NAS

I am keeping my music on an USB drive attached to a NUC running ROCK.
Now I would like to backup this USB drive to a Synology NAS. On the NAS I have only found settings to backup the NAS to a network location, but not the other way around.
How do I best do this, preferably using rsync, so I have the exact identical directory structure on the USB disk and on the NAS (If the USB disk should fail, I would like to be able to simply point ROCK to the NAS).

Mount the storage from ROCK on your Synology.
https://www.synology.com/en-uk/knowledgebase/DSM/help/FileStation/mountremotevolume
I don’t know if Synology has software to back up from here as I have QNAP ansni can back up from remote smb filesystems using it hybrid backup sync.

User and password to use is guest

Thanks, Simon
That seems to work fine. The thing I’m struggling with is how to get rsync configured on the Synology.

Sorry im no rsync expert at all. I always have to ask my works tech support on how do it in cmdline. How you’d automate it I have no idea.

Hi! I’m using rsync to back up my data from the Syno. Rsync is included on the syno, so I’ve put together a howto here that doesn’t involve the use of any terminal tinkering (though that can be fun too).

Having mounted the rock data folder on your syno, it will have a path similar to this (depending on where you mounted it): /volume1/Utilities/roondata/

What you’ll want to do now is create a shell script that backs up the music from one of the subfolders in that folder (/volume1/Utilities/roondata/Storage/usbdrivename)

The shell script can simply be a plain text file that you store somewhere. E.g. usbbackup.sh that contains the following single command:

rsync -av --delete --size-only /volume1/Utilities/roonstorage/Storage/usbdrivename [destination share and folder]

Explanation of flags: