Best music streamer without DAC

Hi- I’m new to this business of streaming devices vs computers (and relatively ignorant) but having used a MacBook Pro for storage/playback for years, it seems time to upgrade to something a bit more appropriate (as well as Roon-ready). I currently have two headphone-based listening systems- one is a Sonoma M1, the other is a Chord MScaler/Dave combination with Audeze LCD4/LCDX (and using an Equi=tech Model Q to balance/stabilize/condition power to all devices). I’m mainly concerned with sound quality- bells and whistles, not so much. Budget-wise, I’d like to stay around $3K but will go up to $5k. The Innuous products look interesting, as does the Sonore Signature Rendu. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated- thanks. .

Lumin U1. Job done.

6 Likes

Have a look at Lumin

6 Likes

If it were my money I wouldn’t look past Lumin

3 Likes

If I had the budget I would definitely go for the Aurelic Aries G2.

2 Likes

I have the Auralic Aries G2 and enjoy it. I selected it over the Lumin, but I am certain I would have been happy with the Lumin as well.

The newer G2.1 resolves USB issues in some systems and has a slightly larger and more isolating case. Last checked, both were concurrently available.

1 Like

I love the sound from the Allo One Signature on a Raspberry Pi 4. I feed the digital output into a Schiit Modi III external DAC. It requires a bit of assembly but sounds great.

1 Like

I am happily listening to the Allo right now, powered by their Shanti 5v linear ps into a Meridian system. It does sound great, but costs only a fraction of the OP’s budget.

Wouldn’t ten times as much money spent on brands like Auralic or Lumin buy a superior listening experience?

1 Like

I found a rock solid 5V power supply on Amazon with two outputs. Works great for Allo Digione.

It would certainly help pay for Auralic’s and Lumin’s marketing!

1 Like