Best USB Bridge/Roon Streamer/ Purifier or Regenerator (for under $750)

I am somewhat new to Roon. I am wanting to add a Roon endpoint to my audio system. Below are possible alternatives I came up with for adding an endpoint. If possible, I would like to add the endpoint for under $750. The following are the options I am found. Please make additional recommendation for endpoints if they are not listed below. Thanks for your help.

1 - Allo USBridge Signature (recommended by John Darko Audio)
2 - Pro-Ject 2s Ultra Streamer
3 - Somt sms-200 neo
4 - MiroRendu v1.5
5 - Pi 4 with USB Perfect (recommended by Underwood Hifi)
6 - Pi 4 (Pi uSB out to dac; I seen debates if purifier or regenerator helps)

One other question. Are there endpoints that would allow me to play both Roon and Pandora? Main focus is on Roon. So if no Pandora alternatives that is OK.

Thanks for your willingness to help.

Taipan

Go for No. 6, and you can add 10 of them with your budget. USB is data, not audio, it all sounds the same. So save your pennies. More expensive streamers add features (not required with Roon), not SQ.

4 Likes

Mike thank you very much for responding to my request. Appreciate your thoughts. Greg

I’m currently using 6), but I’m running VitOS on my Raspberry Pi 4. Sounds great and was easy to set up. More info here: http://www.thunder-data.com/vitos-for-rpi4

This is Roon-only, no Pandora.

I also have the Allo USBridge Signature with Shanti LPS. It’s a nice combo, but Allo has been doing a poor job with software updates, so it’s rather temperamental lately. I’m having regular issues with missing networking drivers and pops/ticks, depending on which Linux kernel I’m using. Given the cost and flakiness, I can no longer recommend @allo.com products.