Bit perfect usb output on Android

I recently purchased an Onkyo DP-X1 DAP and am really enjoying it. I’m fairly new to the Android platform and have discovered one of the quirks of Android is the inability to bypass the up-sampling built into Android when using 3rd party apps (i.e. Tidal) through USB. I find the same limitation using the Roon app for playback on the Onkyo. Right now I’m using the UAPP app with tidal for bit perfect USB output but would love to be able to use Roon to do this.

Has anyone had any success using Roonplayer in Android for bit perfect output via USB OTG or are there future plans to add this functionality in a future release?

4 Likes

I have not attempted to try this yet, but a USB OTG cable has been sitting in my Amazon box for a month now. I’ll get one and see if I can get it to send bit perfect to a dragonfly.

USB DAC’s eat Phone Batteries for breakfast…so even if Roon were to develop a solution for Bitperfect replay on phones, I’m not sure it would be practical for most people

UAPP allows you to bypass the Upsampling / Restrictions of Android even when not using a USB DAC, allowing native sample-rate replay…and especially as it allows Replay of stored files and Tidal…I think it offers the best overall solution for Android devices

Worth bearing in mind that IOS / iPhone will ReSample everything to 16/48 and it appears that there is no work around available

True, but I was doing it more as a personal experiment. However, Android phones already work fine as an endpoint, albeit not bit perfect.

The new audio quest dragonflys are supposed to be much easier on phone batteries.

Agreed that UAPP is a useful app to bypass the restrictions of android sampling. That is what I currently use for playing Tidal on my android DAP.

I was hoping that Roon remote/player would also provide this bit perfect feature over USB as I much prefer Roon UI for accessing tidal than UAPP.