Building my first hi-fi setup looking for advice

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to this board, ending my free-trial period and practically convinced about paying the annual fee. I am loving Roon for its sound quality, the ability to have my personal library and a lossless streaming service together, plus the incredible user experience that Roon provides.

But I am just getting started with hi-fi. All I have is a pair of Dali Spektor 2 speakers! With them, I bought an Onkyo TX-8270 receiver-amplifier, but had to return it because it was not working properly with AirPlay. So keeping by speakers, I have a second chance to make a better buy. My goal is to build a strong system in the long term, but right now I don’t want to spend more than €1,000.

I would love to hear recommendations from this community. My understanding is that the best place to start is with a Roon-ready streamer (if I find any at this budget!) plus an amplifier and use my computer (MacBook Pro) as the core. Then, in time, I would get a DAC, maybe a NAS, server… I am trying to figure out the best option to get started that will allow me to scale in the near future.

I have read a lot around this forum and I see most of you are not only sound experts, but know a lot about the technology behind it. I would really appreciate your comments! Looking forward to hearing your thoughts! What should I get first and what should I take into account looking at future purchases?

1 Like

Hi Manuel,

Nice speakers there!

I would recommend the NAD C 368 integrated - add the BluOS module to it and you have a Roon Ready integrated amp, using it’s ethernet input, all in one box.

https://nadelectronics.com/product/c-368-hybrid-digital-dac-amplifier/

I think the NAD 368 is 999 euros but the BluOS module/card is pricey at 499 euros. The BluOS module is not only a Roon Ready endpoint but is also an MQA decoder, if that’s of interest.