Bulk file renaming app

After many years of ripping Cds with a few different apps I have decided I need to rename quite a lot of my flac files so that they number correctly.
There are a lot of tracks numbered 1, 2, 3, 4 etc & I intend to renumber them to 01, 02, 03, 04, can anyone a recommend an app to speed the process up?

I believe mp3tag may be a candidate but I’ve no experience of using it.

Thanks in anticipation :pray:t4:

Before I got deeper into Foobar2000 MP3Tag was my 1st solution for this.

I learned here: Flexibles Tagging (Seite 1) - Tagging und Organisation - AudioHQ
or General - (fb2k)

Now I can use my Foobar for all operating systems for mass editing, better than MP3Tag.

Create own views (skins), flexible tagging and filtering, see immediately where something is wrong (yellow fields) and even improve it with my own 1-click. For this purpose I built my own toolbar…

Today I use this scheme with Foobar2000.

Destination: Z:\run\media\uwea\TX\X
Where X can be a drive letter or letter of the folder.

Filename: $cut(%album artist%,50)/$cut(%album%,80) [’[’%date%’]’ ]%H%/$num(%discnumber%,2)%tracknumber%. [$cut(%artist%,50) - ]$cut(%title%,50)

H can be filled after the release year with letters or numbers from 0 to 9 / A to Z to separate albums into several folders for comprehensible reasons.

Cut is needed so that the folders and file names are not longer than the operating system allows according to its formatting rules.

1 Like

Thanks for your comments Uwe, I’ll have a look at Foobar over the weekend and run a couple of tests. :pray:t4:

1 Like

Yes mp3Tag can do the job with the auto renumbering wizard. I have only used it for one folder at a time but you can select multiple folders and it will restart numbering for each folder.

A question though, why do you want to do this? Roon isn’t bothered by filename track numbering.

1 Like