Can Roon be used to play music on ibasso dx200?

I know that ibasso dx200 runs a version of Android as an alternative to its dedicated mangi OS. Can the roon app be installed on the ibasso dx200 and be used to play music on it?

This does not answer your question but might help, I run Roon on my Echobox Explorer…which runs a version of android, also. Just had to side load it on the device, actually just updated Roon on it today by using the internal web browser and going to Roon downloads page to download the APK directly.

Yes and no! The Roon app can be installed, and does work. But the screen resolution is that of a tablet, really too small to make out what’s on the screen and to operate it. I have tried using it in non private zone mode, so I can control it with my iPad. This works ok, but the sound quality is not as good as using the dx200 directly. I think this is due to android downsampling or the utilisation of the dac but I am not an expert on this. Even cd quality sounds worse via Roon. There is a modded firmware released by Lurker which allows players on the dx200 to use the in built dac almost as a USB dac, but I do not know whether this works with Roon.
It is a shame the resolution is wrong, because the dx200 is such a fantastic player. Do you have a dx200 or are you thinking of getting one?

I am just considering buying the DX200 as I love my DX90. Roon is such a great platform that it is a pity if the DX200 cannot benefit from it. Let me ask you, why do you say that the resolution is that of a tablet? I run Roon on my iphone 6s which has not a tablet size display. Still Roon can be controlled with comfort from the iPhone. Maybe you have side loaded the wrong apk?

I have looked into this a little bit. I believe there is only one Android Apk, and the display resolution is dependent on what the Roon app picks up from the device. For some reason this is too high a resolution for the do200, things are just too small. Here’s a screenshot