Cannot backup Roon to attached Time Machine WD Passport [Resolved]

Hi

Apologies if this has been covered, but I couldn’t find it in the Knowledge Base

I am new to Roon, running the latest version with my 2017 iMac as a Core (macOS Mojave v 10.14.3), iPad Pro as Controller, and Bluesound Node 2i endpoint connected to my Rega DAC-R and HiFi system.

Everything works really well, but I can’t seem to be able to set up a backup

I have a 2TB WD Passport attached to the iMac via Thunderbolt / USB-C, which is set as my Time Machine for system/file backups. The iMac has a 1TB hard drive with 750GB utilised, so there is over 1TB of freespace on the Time Machine, so I want to also use it as the destination drive for my Roon back ups. In essence, one 2TB back-up drive for everything.

I point Roon at the Time Machine drive to schedule the backup, and consistently get an error message “Failed to get authorisation to access your account” - see attached screengrabs. What “account” is it failing to get access to? My Roon account? My iMac user ID? The error message is too vague to work out what the issue is, so any help or guidance would be much appreciated

Cheers, Matt

A search for backup in the knowledge base reveals:
User Guide > Getting Started > Backups

Excerpt:

Using Other Backup Applications

Because the Roon database is frequently being updated in the background with new metadata, cover art, artist information, and more, backing up your “live” Roon database using external programs can result in corrupt backups.

We strongly recommend against using Time Machine, Crashplan, Backblaze, or other backup applications to backup your “live” Roon database.

If you would like to use any of these applications to back up Roon, set up a Scheduled Backup and tell your backup program to backup the RoonBackups folder.

Hi