Can't determine if MQA is playing properly

I need advice on whether or not my system is set up and working properly. I am new to Tidal and Roon so please forgive me if this is an obvious situation. I can’t determine if the issue I think I have is how things are supposed to work or if there is a problem with my ultraRendu or DAC. I am still in my return period for both products and I need to get this figured out quickly.

My setup: Sonic Transorbiter 5 connected directly to the router of my 1GB network. My DAC is an iFi pro iDSD and it is plugged in to the ultraRendu via USB. The ultraRendu is connected to the network and is powered by the Sonore 7v power supply. My sequence for starting the iFi is to power it on and wait for it to completely boot up, then turn on the power supply for the ultraRendu.

I stream music via Roon and also use Tidal through Roon. In Roon, the ultraRendu is identified as the Bridge Device. Roon sees the iFi as “iFi (by AMR) iFi (by AMR) HD USB Audio” under Audio Device but says it is an unidentified device. In Roon the settings for the ultraRendu are: MQA Capabilities: No MQA support; Enable MQA Core Decoder set to yes.

My concern is that the iFi is MQA certified and yet I cannot seem to get the full streaming resolution when streaming MQA songs from Tidal through Roon. Tidal and Roon say the song is FLAC 48 kHz 24 bit, MQA 192kHz and yet it plays at only 96kHz, 24 bit. It happens on every Tidal track that indicates 192kHz. This is the signal path info I get from Roon. Is this how things are supposed to be or do I have a problem. Thanks in advance for any advice on this issue.

Dennis

Yes this is the way the mqa core decoder works giving you a 96/24 or 88/24 stream. Any further decoding is done in your DAC provided it supports MQA. See this for more details.

https://kb.roonlabs.com/Roon_x_MQA