Chromebook failing to find Roon Server

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

Windows 10 Pro

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

Google Nest WiFi

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

Simaudio Moon 780D DAC

Description Of Issue

Chromebook can’t find Roon Server (Windows PC). Android phone and iPad clients have no issues connecting. I have verified network config, and scanned for server using its IP address. Are there known issues using Chromebooks? This is my first attempt. Thanks!

This is because of the network sandboxing ChromeOS does to Android apps, combined with Roon stupidly implementing their own service discovery instead of using mDNS.

Workaround is to hit the “help” button and type the IP address of the Roon Core in. After that, Roon will remember the IP and should reconnect automatically on future start. (I can confirm this works on my own Pixel Slate.)

1 Like

I can also confirm that this also works on my Chromebook.

Regards

Mike

I’ve tried this and it doesn’t seem to find it. Any other troubleshooting ideas on searching by IP address? Seems like it should find it. I’m not very familiar with ChromeOS, so I don’t know of many troubleshooting avenues. Thanks for your assistance!

That makes no sense, mDNS also relies on IP multicast that is the issue (in some cases) with Roon.

1 Like

Yes. But the difference is, the OS provides the mDNS daemon and automatically makes it work in the sandboxed network that Android apps run in under ChromeOS. Whereas direct use of multicast in that sandbox will only ever see other Android apps running on the same physical machine – multicast to the main network is impossible.

mDNS is also way more reliable for service discovery under normal Android as well, for the same reason of being an OS daemon that is immune to app doze.