Control4 integration - can you play roon to Control4 rooms?

I have a Nucleus+ server as well as Control4, and they have been integrated.

I am able to use the Control4 app to play roon on my HiFi, but I am more interested in using it to play roon to my control4 rooms (otherwise, frankly, there is no point for this integration).

My Nucleus server is based in the same AV rack where my control4 components are, and any wired/network connection is easily doable.

How do I get use control4 to play my roon library to a control4 audio zone?

thank you!

Have you read this section

1 Like

I have.

It shows how to control Roon from C4, which indeed works. But not how to play Roon content to C4 rooms/audio zones?

Select a control point in settings audio in roon.

I’m not an expert in this so others may be better informed but I have had some experience with a legacy multiroom system. If you have an existing control4 multichannel amplifier with multiple analogue inputs and multiple speaker outputs to your individual rooms you will need to provide one (or possibly more) connections from the Nucleus to the analogue inputs on your control4 amplifier. A USB DAC (or more than one if you want different Roon zones in the different rooms) is probably the easiest answer if the Nucleus and Control4 amplifier are in the same rack. If they are not close by then a networked RasberryPi running ropieee with a suitable DAC hat would be a suitable input to the Control4 amplifier.

thanks @ged_hickman1 and @EricJ

I see the two Nucleus HDMI ports in the settings audio, do you mean select one of those as the audio zone for roon, and connect an HDMI cable from the Nucleus to the C4 audio matrix or amplifier?

Will C4 “see” roon as an audio source after that (as it does any other audio source in C4)?

also, I wonder if C4 can give a command to roon to use that HDMI audio zone, or do I have to manually do this in roon before using C4?