Core on Mac Mini M1 vs Asus I5 Windows 10 ca 2017

Hi, I’m completely new to Roon. Having used JRiver MC for a long time, and used asio to transfer audio to a IFI IDSD
The time is now to add more multi-room capacity.
I have a choice between installing Roon Core on the PC which holds most of my music files or a brand new Mac mini.

I can’t have two cores running without a new subscription.
I can off course use the pc as a bridge and let the Mac do the number crunching.
The files that need the most processing power are DSD. I’m having problems in sending DSD over the wired network. Not so with files stored in the local library.

Should the core be where the music is stored or should the music be on the endpoint?

I will also upgrade my network cable to Cat 7 or 8 to maximise speed.

If DSD is your thing, you might want to go with Windows. Macs don’t do “native” DSD - you’d need to run it DoP, which is actually not a big deal but some people care.

I am using an M1 Mac Mini with an endpoint and I can send native DSD to my DAC all day long. The OP is using an endpoint so the Mac Mini’s OS limitations are not in play here.

1 Like

The music always go through the core. If you stored it on the endpoint it would be pulled to the core and then back to the endpoint again.

You are absolutely right about Mac OS not doing DSD natively.
For that you have to bypass Kernel audio. Which is limited for file support that Apple somehow don’t approve of. And make an integer connection with DA using USB. ASIO driver is not needed.
Various software like Amarra, Audirvāna, Pure Music and the like have been able to do so for quite some time.

If Roon can do the same thing, ie integer mode we are about to find out.

When I used a Mac Mini as my core I do not recall DSD being an option in roon, (only DoP or Convert to PCM) when connected over USB. (I’m now using a Nucleus, and I am an old man whose memory is poor)