Critique my NUC build for core + storage

Plan is to install Linux, use this for both storage (upgrade from current Raspberry Pi + external USB drive), for Roon core. Library currently stands at 7,500 track, 66GB, though I’m only halfway through ripping my CD collection to FLAC.

Overkill? Any thoughts on running storage and core in this way?

I don’t want to spend on a separate NAS and intend to run the drives as RAID1 with weekly incremental backups to the old Pi+USB drive. I expect the NUC to perform some other general-purpose computing and NAS duties, and possibly host my Plex server (or could keep that on the Pi).

Intel NUC BXNUC10I5FNH1 (10th gen Core i5) $439.99

512GB PCIe Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) $72.99

2 x 8GH DDR4 memory $67.98

2 x 2TB WD Blue 5400rpm SATA 2.5" HDDs $153.98

Total $734.94

I am not an expert here but I have read in other posts that 10th gen NUC not yet supported for ROCK due to “Ethernet issues”.

1 Like

That’s right there’s no support for 10 yet.

I’m also interested in building NUC with 10 gen intel… anyone knows what time it will get support for Rock?

No and roon won’t comment.

But really nothing? Its more like weeks, months or years? :wink:

They won’t comment as they won’t know how long it will take. Apparently there is a problem with the Ethernet in the device itself.
Will that need Intel do do a fix or the chip manufacturer or a software fix to the bios or…

Interesting thanks, I didn’t see that. Well, I guess 9th gen may save a few bucks. However I am planning to use a general-purpose Linux distro rather than ROCK as I want to do things other than just Roon Core with this machine, so maybe it won’t matter?

TBH I have no idea as to other distros, Not my thing.

If I was going to build a NUC, I would use the most powerful that is listed as supported by Roon. Why open a potential can of worms?

The thing is, the previous generation is out of stock, and only 10 genes are currently available