DB didnt transfer properly during transition to ROCK/NUC [Resolved]

I’m a computer audio beginner and it took me about 4.5 hours to put the memory stick and and SSD in my NUC, update the BIOS, and install ROCK, and migrate core duty from my MacBook to my NUC. I give the Roon team a thumbs up for really attempting to provide detailed guidance for users and mostly succeeding. The fact that I bounced between the Roon guidance and the guide posted on Computer Audiophile suggests that Roon’s guidance isn’t the end all be all…but I suppose it can’t be all things to all users. Chris Connaker’s 8 or so minute video was very helpful for me. It was a chore to borrow the keyboard and mouse I needed from work. And using my TV screen as a monitor. I’m sure some folks don’t have this stuff for their ROCK setup. It was also frustrating that I couldn’t just download and run files, I had to download special programs to “write” them…whatever that means. I’m just glad I got it done!

I do have one fundamental problem. After getting my NUC up and running with ROCK and opening the remote on my MacBook, I restored my database from a backup on a USB drive so I do have all my Tidal selections, but the NUC wasn’t finding the music files stored on that same USB drive connected to it. So I went into Settings>Storage to point it to where my music folder lives on the USB harddrive and got my music to show up, but then that flooded my computer with music and changed the “last modified” date and seemingly lost my metadata settings. So I’m having to choose my database settings or the music on my harddrive. I must have done something wrong, but what?

1 Like

@RoonFAQ I could still use some help resolving my issue in the above post. Thanks!

@support can you help here?

1 Like

Hi,

After restoring your backup onto ROCK … when you went to Settings–> Storage did you add a new Watched folder or edit the existing one?