Do I need an inexpensive DAC?

Hi, complete newbie here. I purchased an annual subscription to Roon within the past couple of weeks. I was interested in the database, UX and Tidal integration first and foremost. The audio transport capabilities of the product were actually secondary to me when I first evaluated the product.

I have mostly inexpensive “mid-fi” consumer products in my cabinets. I was familiar with streaming as a concept, having struggled with early products like the Phillips Streamium close to 15 years ago. I have tried a number of software products over the years and have eventually abandoned all of them for one reason or another. I am currently using Plex for video streaming, primarily because client software is integrated with my Roku and Sony BDP devices. Prior to that I had been using JRiver for audio and video, but I disliked the UI and the amount of granular tweaking required to use it.

We found our selves short of HDMI connections on our older Yamaha AV Receiver, and so I just purchased a Pioneer Elite VSX-LX301 AV Receiver. It has lots of HDMI connections, accepts USB input front and back, has integrated Tidal Streaming, AirPlay and other network-enabled features. I knew it wouldn’t serve as a Roon endpoint, but I hadn’t yet spent as much time reading forum posts about Roon architecture and RAAT yet at that point.