Does Roon do too much?

I love Roon. Roon core on Mac + 1k classical albums on NAS + Lumin T2 endpoint is pretty much 80% of my listening. Don’t use Tidal/Qobuz, Nucleus, ROCK, HQ player, Linux, windows, Pi, metadata editing, custom installations and the billion settings and features.

This a simple setup. I’ve had zero issues with Roon in the two years into my lifetime subscription. But I see lots and lots of people with lots and lots of issues on this forum.

This makes me think: Is Roon trying to do too much and please too many people? Maybe it’s not a big deal because the feature set and platform support is so huge that people are willing to forgive then for all their bugs and transgressions. But still… it seems that that should concentrate on just making the thing solid before supporting any more Roon ready devices, new features etc.

I’m a computer scientist and have been working on complex software for 30 years—easily more than 20-30 million lines of code in all cases. The first rule is: keep it as simple as possible when designing the feature set and the architecture and then implementing the algorithms. (And in a lot of cases we’re the first ones to be designing the algorithms, so there’s no prior art.)

When I see all the knobs and settings and platforms they support and devices and protocols and on and on, I’m not surprised that anytime there’s a software update people start complaining on this forum.

Am I missing something? Is it a misimpression?

4 Likes

That would be very nice :slight_smile: I think Roon ist great - but concerned about any update (Windows, QNAP, Roon etc.) that comes: Will the update create new problems?

Are you a theoretical computer scientist or did you ever have to sell a product? :slight_smile:

Like most nontrivial applications, each user may only use 10% of the features, but everyone uses different 10%. For myself, Roon would be useless without Tidal/Qobuz, metadata editing and some of the billion settings and features.