DSP eq without a clue

Hi I have too much sloppy vibrating bass from my system in my room (amphion argon 3, mytek liberty and primaluna prologue premium amp). I’ve moved speakers well away from wall. I think it’s the suspended wooden floor in my old house and too many windows. I’m new to roon and don’t understand eq principles. What simple fix can I try in dsp to trim the bass while doing as little as possible damage to rest of the sound? Sorry if this is naive question! Thanks!

The easiest place to start would be using simple parametric equalization. To be as quick and easy as possible you could simply lower the bass in the areas you feel are too boomy/sloppy.
As you probably appreciate this whole process can get really deep. But a couple other levels that should be explored eventually:

1. measure the frequency response in your room. This can be simple with a Radio Shack SPL meter and something that will give different frequency outputs (I used Stereophile’s CD, back in the day). This gives you a better idea of what areas are too pronounced. You’ll almost certainly see areas that are sucked out too. You will be much more productive using this to guide speaker placement than guessing at it by ear (at least it was for me). I also found that my listening position was a big deal. Room treatments can also be added.
  2. Another level is to use software that will do frequency sweeps. This is a lot more visual, but you’ll need a microphone.
  3. Best would be using software that can create convolution filters. This gives you much better precision controlling the peaks and valleys in frequency response. They can often be pretty close together, and parametric equalization can’t get that refinement. That said, the software for this (e.g. Acourate) is pretty demanding.

Personally, I think the benefit/price ratio for getting the room right is higher than almost any other thing you can do with your system. So time here is well spent.