Excessively high internet traffic from Roon Rock

I have been using a self-built ROON Rock machine for several years. Several days ago I received a warning from my internet provider that I had exceeded my months 1200 GB data limit, and that I would be charged an overage fee. I logged onto my Sparklight account and looked at my data statistics–I found that about 20 days ago there started huge upload traffic on the order of 40-85 Gb a day. After a couple days of troubleshooting I realized that I can monitor internet traffic from all of my devices by logging into my router and turning on “traffic statistics”. By doing so I found that my Roon Rock computer is the culprit. There is a steady stream of traffic totalling 10’s of Gb a day!
I cannot afford this kind of internet traffic, and I don’t understand what could be causing such an amount of upload traffic.
Any ideas?

To be clear, is this ROCK running on a NUC, MOCK, or Roon Server running on a Linux distro?

Hi @Ronald_Inman, we have a similar issue reported by another user and are working to get to the bottom of it. Please sit tight and we’ll keep you posted on progress.

2 Likes

I’m sorry, I should have specified: This is Roon Rock running on NUC.

2 Likes

Great. I hope for a quick resolution.
Do you need me to send logs or anything?
For the time being I need to take it off the network.

@Ronald_Inman, We’ve figured out the cause of this issue and although we don’t have a final fix, that will be coming soon. In the mean time you can cure the fault by doing the following:

1. Go to the ROCK admin webpage and stop RoonServer
  2. Connect to the database storage on your ROCK by connecting to \\rock.local\Data (windows) or smb://rock.local/Data (mac)
  3. Navigate to RoonServer -> Database -> Orbit
  4. In that folder you will find three subfolders. Delete the one named orbit_v3.db
  5. Start RoonServer back up via the admin webpage