Exogal Comet or Mytek Brookly DAC with Nucleus over USB

I’m new to Roon and looking into using Roon Nucleus straight to a DAC like the Exogal Comet or Mytek Brooklyn DAC over USB. It seems some people are doing this while others recommend using a USB filtering device or an Ethernet to USB bridge to keep out the noise from over USB.
Tips anyone? Thanks!

A direct USB connection is simple and easy to do. You can do that and my guess is you’ll have no problem with quality. It is simple and easy. Two boxes, done. The next most efficient way is the streaming version of your DAC, so the Brooklyn+. So extra Ethernet cabling and maybe a switch but still essentially two boxes. Personally I went from USB direct through various options including USB cleansing and DDC’s and I ended up at a streaming DAC, back to two boxes.

They are recommending snakeoil. USB from the Nucleus straight to the DAC is perfectly fine. Any “electrical noise” is down at the -100db (or lower) range and inaudible. The “reclockers” are an even bigger scam, espcially for USB, which is async.

Splitting the Core from the endpoint over the network has different advantages. Multi-room support, for one. And getting a potentially physically noisy (e.g., fans) out of your listening room. But the Nucleus is fanless, and while a few people have complained about coil whine, should basically be physically silent.

Thanks for the answers so far. I don’t need multiroom so it looks like it will be a 2 box bliss :smile:
And what is the recommendation for the USB cable: decent is good enough and more than that is snake oil again?
Also I have seen some older posts indicating some issues with drivers running over USB especially with upscaling. Anything to be aware?

Any USB cable made to USB specifications is more than sufficient. Don’t throw money away on snakeoil.

The only time cables are an issue is if the DAC itself is poorly designed. And even cheap, budget DACs these days generally exceed the minimums.