Hand Held Remote control for Roon?

Hi,

I’m pretty new to Roon, having set up an Intel NUC10i5 as my core almost 6 months and, touch wood, I’ve had no problems with it at all and I really enjoy the Roon experience. I have a Headphone set up using a Stack Audio Link II network bridge, Chord Qutest DAC and an Auris Euterpe headphone amp. Roon is controlled via Samsung tablet.

I would like to know if there is any way to use a very simple hand held remote control to change tracks forwards or backwards and maybe stop/pause (something like the old Apple TV remote perhaps, although I do have an unused Harmony remote that presumably could be programmed)? Nothing more than that, no volume control needed.

I’ve read a few things about Roon extensions on these pages but I’m not very computer savvy and I have to admit I wasn’t quite sure if something was actually available or not (and even if it was, if I would be capable of implementing it).

Any help would be much appreciated - I know it might sound silly but I tend to listen in near darkness (extremely relaxed !) and I really dislike having to stare at a tablet screen (even in night mode) if I want to change a track…which makes me less likely to listen to Roon radio and/or experiment more with new music suggestions.

1 Like

I just set up rooDial for the first time this week, and I absolutely love it. Can’t believe that I didn’t do this sooner. It’s perfect for your use case of listening in near darkness…even better than a remote control because you don’t have to feel around for buttons, etc.

You can get a sense of what’s possible here:

John is talking about the more expensive Numio dial (~$270). I’m using the Microsoft Surface Dial (~$75) and could not be happier. Software is ~$12/year with a lifetime option if you prefer.

If you don’t require volume control, the dial can be mapped to seek forward/back in the track instead.

Here’s a list of some of the settings (for rooDial):