Headphone Amp - do I need one?

Hi, I’m a complete newbie having just got into this wonderful hobby - sorry for the basic question.

I’m running a Cambridge Evo 150 from Roon Rock on a Nuc and want to get a decent set of headphones such as the Sennheiser HD800S.

Do I need a seperate headphone amp, and if so, why, and what will it give me?

The amp already has a headphone output, so you don’t need a separate one.

1 Like

IME, HD800 (and the “s” version) can be a little harsh and bright with certain amps. I don’t have experience with the Evo 150 so can’t speak to whether it would be up tp the task or not. I personally went through many amps until I found one or two that gave me what I was looking for, YMMV. It will depend on how you like the HD800s with the built in amp.

A concern would be that it looks like the Evo 150 only has a 3.5mm jack so may be a weak point for connecting the HD800s. Unless you have a cable terminated in 3.5. I believe the HD800s usually comes with 6.5mm and Balanced 4.4mm cable. I own the HD800 not the “s” version and bought a balanced XLR cable for it…

1 Like

I would imagine the 3.5mm headphone socket on the evo is more of a convenience than for serious listening. I had a quick look in the manual and the output spec isn’t specified.

The 800s, like the 800, are known to be on the bright side. Not sure how class D is going to help tame that. Tubes will help tame it some. High Impedance Sennheiser generally sound better when properly driven on a tube Amp in my experience. I’ve never had the 800s but have had a trusty HD650 for some years and it’s a much better listen on a tube Amp, as are other dynamic high Impedance cans generally.

If you are prepared to drop the cash on a pair of cans at the price of the 800s then be prepared to drop some on a suitable dedicated head Amp to drive them properly. No point in buying a sandwich without the filling is there?