Help me understand the relationship between Tidal and Roon

Hi Roon people,
I have been using Tidal and Roon together for about six months. A couple of questions:

1. If I play tracks in Roon, does Tidal know?
  2. Does Tidal then account for those selections when making me Daily Discovery and Mix playlists?

I ask because I find Tidal Discovery way better than Roon’s Valence system. And also because when I am out running or driving in my car, I listen to Tidal but want it to understand my taste.

Also, does anybody think that Spotify will ever connect with Roon… because Spotify’s music discovery is the best! I still pay for Spotify for this reason.

Thanks Nadine

3 Likes

I have been asking the same question about Tidal and whether plays through their API “count” towards your interests within TIDAL ai. I have not gotten an official answer from Tidal (they are the ones that need to answer), but my gut feeling is “no”.

There is a long thread on Spotify integration – the answer is “so extremely unlikely that the answer is no”. Spotify would have to agree for Roon’s tight integration which would not happen, OR, Roon would have to use a less integrated approach. Neither of which seems at all likely.

4 Likes

Oh thanks for this. I was wondering if I had missed some key guidance because… I also feel like songs played through the Tidal API don’t count. Please let me know if you get an answer from Tidal. And if you think another person making that feature request would help.

Also sad about Spotify integration (they could call it Spoon :). I might just let my Spotify sub lapse and focus on training Tidal to know me …

1 Like

I’m new to Roon (just a week or so), but similarly to you love Tidal’s My Daily Discovery mix (I posted a workaround to be able to use it in Roon a few days ago). But I hadn’t even considered that my use of Tidal via Roon didn’t count for this!?