Help with setting up watch folder on MacBook Air with Roon Nucleus Core - New to Roon!

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

Roon Nucleus 2019 Version

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

Nucleus plugged in to Netgear router. Remaining set up using WiFi

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

Sonos Move, KEF LSX, Chromecast audio

Description Of Issue

Hi, Im trying to set up my watched folders but can’t seem to find them/ set up the right path despite following the instructions on the Roon KB. I am new to Roon and configured my MacBook Air to use as a remote with the Roon Core being my Nucleus. Probably a basic enquiry but any help would be awesome! I plan to plug a hard drive via USB into my nucleus as well. The music on my MacBook is in two places - downloaded into a folder on my hard drive and backed up in iCloud. Thanks!

Hi Adith,

Welcome to the community.

Using a hard drive and connecting it directly to the Nucleus is a good way to go. Having the music on your MacBook means it has to be on and running to play music on the Nucleus. It will work though. Lots of people do this.

Check out this kB article that shows how to set up a network share.

Let us know if you need any help.

Cheers, Greg

In macOS, System Preferences==>Sharing -

In Roon, Settings==>Storage -

If you don’t want to use the Hostname, you can use the IP of your Mac.

hi Greg,

That worked a treat. Took a newbie like me a bit of fiddling but got it to work. And yes, I plan to run off the hard drive connected to the nucleus mainly. Do you know if plugging and unplugging the hard drive (as I upload more albums on) makes a difference?

Thanks a lot again!
Adith

Thanks @xxx! Worked !

cheers,
Adith

1 Like