Help with sibilance please

Hi there, I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to using an Equaliser so would love some guidance or for someone to point me in the right direction.

I have had a quick look at the Roon guide about this and I am not really that much further forward.

I will give a bit of background. I moved home about 9 months ago and as anticipated my music is my new room sounded so different. I have moved to a detached house and accept that playing music louder seems to emphasise the problems.

I do have two GK acoustic panels behind my listening position and they help but it is not enough in this room. I donā€™t have the time or the cash yet to look at improving the room set up so I am hoping to see if using the DSP in Roon can give me a temporary solution.

What has really brought it home to me is I have started to use my Headphone set up lately. I do have quite a good set up and it sounds excellent. However when I now listen to music on my main rig the problems are more apparent.

So I will try and keep it simple. I have the Devialet 200 feeding the SF Olympicas and I have set the tone setting on the amp to -5 for treble. This helps a little

My main issue is it sounds a bit bright, and female voices have way too much sibilance .

The bass can also be a bit boomy , but that is really only an issue when I crank the volume up, but yes listening to music loud is my one vice :wink:

Can anyone help me or give me guidance on how I can try and improve this by using the Roon interface.

I am not great with all of this stuff so it will need to be kept simple if possible, but any guidance will be greatly appreciated

Devialet is a very transparent amplifier if all the settings in the ā€œToneā€ menu are zero / off (in all subpages of the menu). There should be no such problems. Probably the cause is the source of the music or the room. Are there large reflective / glossy surfaces in the room (windows, floor tiles or glossy parquet, etc.)?

1 Like