How do I set up Roon Core on an external SSD?

Hi. I am fairly new to Roon and to most things computer except banging out a text document on my MacBook Pro. Though, baby steps, I have managed to network most of my entertainment needs. So, what I have is the Roon core on my Synology DS916+ NAS, which also has a very small but ever increasing library of 10,000 songs. Though it performs fine mostly, I find, simplistically put, dsf files stuttering at times as well as playing at lower volume than the flac ones. Which, of course, reminded me of this one line I had read in Roon advice for NAS; that the core can still be set up on an external SSD. Which is where I need help:

1. Which core platform can be installed here. The reason I ask is because it has no OS. Also have no idea if any OS can be installed on an external SSD. Do help.

2. Which external SSD would you recommend? I imagine it should be 128gb?

3. On network, Roon catches my Oppo UDP-205, which is also how I got introduced to Roon. Hopefully, this SSD setup will not intervene in this flow?

4. Once set up on an SSD, will I be able to migrate my current database, or will it have to be a complete new haul?

Your advice will be greatly appreciated.

Hi
In this case, especially CPU efficiency and amount of operating memory is very crucial - not mass storage (SSD) efficiency.
So - I’m not sure, if set up Roon core on an external SSD will help.
Unless - this Synology RAID is extremely slow?

I think the memory is sufficient as it has an 8gb stick. It is a quad core Intel Pentium 3710 processor, which also I think might be sufficient for my small library. I think as stated, for the core, spinning disks might be a problem. Also, playing dsf files, which might still stay an issue despite the core planted in an SSD.

Are you sure, that memory is a “Memory Stick” - not a usual 8 GB RAM in proper ram slot?
Because if it is really a Stick - that will not work.

If memory is OK - try this.