How do you use Bookmarks?

Hey there - so I’m new to Roon but it’s really what I’ve been looking for since the early days of iTunes I guess - it’s really transformed how I feel about digital music and although there is lots to like about Roon the key feature for me is Tags. That may seem like a simple thing for a lot of money but it really makes so much sense to me in terms of how I listen to music and conceive of my music interests and collection.

But Bookmarks aren’t so immediately obvious to me so I’d love to hear about the different ways in which people use the Bookmark feature - I can see how it has an enormous amount of potential.

So would just enjoy hearing how people use this specific feature in different ways as I’m really sure different people will use it in very different ways.

Thanks!

1 Like

Here’s my Bookmarks:

As you can see I’ve been on a bit of a Late Night Tales trawl.

3 Likes

Here are my Bookmarks

As a relatively new Roon user it took me a little time to get used to Bookmarks but now I find them invaluable. The key advantage over tags is that if you use Bookmarks to bookmark a particular “Focus” you can recall that Focus very quickly and it will of course be updated to include any albums added after the date you made the bookmark. In other words, to put it another way, the Bookmark is a live bookmark adapting to suit albums as you add or delete them.

Perhaps it’s easier to understand if I show the Bookmarks I use (each based on a particular Focus):

Bookmarks

Stephen

5 Likes

Wow! Didn’t know you can bookmark a focus… oh dear hours will disappear finding new ways to view my library!! :blush:

3 Likes

oh that’s really interesting - I haven’t really looked at ‘focus’ yet really

Focus is where it’s at. Remember that you can toggle a Focus from + to - to exclude content. The logic is AND between Focus tools and OR within a tool.

I use a single Classical bookmark, because I can always toggle it to Non-Classical.

2 Likes