How long should Snapshooting take 24hrs?

Hello @support,

I am new to Roon. I have the Roon core on a TS-251+. The core is ona Samsung SSD 850 EVO. The first 3 days everything was fine. Now I get the message that the software is “Snapshotting Databases for Backup”. It has been doing this for 24 hours. I set the backup to be on Sunday nights. Not sure why this is happening now. Not sure what to do. Any suggestions.

Thanks

Hi @geoffrey_sims ---- Thank you for the report and sharing your observations with us, the feedback is appreciated! I have went ahead and moved your post over to the “support” section on community so we can address this behavior with you directly :wink:

Moving forward, the time it takes for a “snapshot” to complete is contingent on the size of the given DB, but this feels like something else has gone wrong. Since noticing this behavior, have you tried to reboot the NAS and try again? If so, what was the experience like?

-Eric

Hello,

I stopped Roon on the server yesterday and rebooted the server. I did not want to do it again in case it corrupted the files. It has showed the Overview screen twice yesterday. It then went right back to the snapshot message. I would turn the backup off but I cannot access the settings.

Trying again now, it shows that it is still waiting for it to connect. I believe I have about 50 GB of music on the drive.

Geoff

Hi @geoffrey_sims ----- Thank you for the follow up and providing the requested feedback.

Moving forward, while that particular NAS is a little underpowered than what we normally recommend for hosting a Roon core, this does appear to be taking longer than what we’d expect it to. In light of this, may I very kindly ask you to please upload us a set of your logs from the device hosting your core, using Chris’s instructions below.

-Eric

You can find the core’s logs in the “RoonServer” shared folder, which can be accessed by a Mac/PC over smb.