HQ Player on Roon Nucleus?

What is the function of HQ Player on a Roon Nucleus. Having activated it as a new zone music cannot be played as to the other zones generated.

HQ Player is third party DSP software published by Signalyst which can operate as an audio distribution ā€œbackendā€ with Roon. An HQ Player zone is only active if you have downloaded the HQ Player software, installed it on a computer connected to the network that your Nucleus is on and directed Roon to the IP address of that computer. See here.

You can read more about HQ Player in threads in the HQ Player category of this Forum. This is my view about HQ Player.

Thanks, Andrew. I studied this before activating HQ Player via the Roon App on my Nucleus. But when pushing the play button in the HQ Player Zone (a radio station is selected) I get the message that no connection could be created!??? Could it be that theHQ Player is hidden behind the DSP button of a zone selected and that there is no need to create the HQ Player Zone if there is no additional component in the network which runs this third party software???

There is no occasion to create an HQ Player zone unless you have downloaded and installed the HQ Player software on a computer. If you have not done that then there is nothing for an HQ Player zone to connect to.

Have you downloaded and installed HQ Player ? If not, stop worrying about this type of zone. If yes, then follow the instructions in the KB article.

HQPlayer is separate software that needs to go on a separate PC. The function within Roon allows you to connect to and use that additional PC as an output. It does nothing on its own as you have discovered.

Thanks Henry. If I understand things correctly HQ Player isnā€™t automatically installed on my Roon Nucleus where I selected ā€œlocal hostā€ when activating the zone. Thus I wonder why HQ Player should be installed on a Roon Nucleus.