HQP v. Roon DSP

Hey. I have been using HQP for a couple of months now. First to upsample PCM 16/44 or 48 to 24/92, then to full on DSD 512 (with new DAC). Sounds amazing, huge pain to use. Weak interface, various instabilities, and ultra hard on CPU.

With Roon DSP’s new filters and 512 capability, I was wondering how much of a difference there is now between these softwares from an sq standpoint. Sure would be nice to just use Roon.

I would just A/B the two but HQP has apparently overtaxed my i7 server and I cannot play HQP at the moment (I do have a back up mac mini i5 to run Roon alone).

Any input will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I use both to upsample to DSD128 and IMO HQP does create a slightly nicer sound than Roon DSP does, but the ease of use with my SonicOrbiter SE, more and more I can’t be brothered with HQP as Roon just works 100% of the time.

2 Likes

I’m speaking here as someone who’s been a big HQPlayer fan and who thinks everything he’s ever learned about upsampling and filtering has come from Jussi.

All that notwithstanding, since Build 216 and the improvements in Roon’s upsampling and filtering, especially as it relates to DSD, I’ve switched over to using Roon’s DSP primarily. In my setup, it takes just a couple of seconds to switch from DSP via Roon to DSP via HQP with everything else being equal, so I can do A–B comparisons pretty easily. I continue to do this, with different recordings in different genres, and so far, I just can’t detect a lot of difference between Roon DSP and HQP. I’ve mostly been A–B’ing relatively short passages (a couple-few minutes), but if/when I have time, I’ll try some lengthier comparisons.

(Note that my setup only goes up to DSD256, and that’s what I upsample everything to.)

2 Likes

Personally, I use Roon for parametric EQ, crossfeed, and channel mapping, then send the processed stream over to HQPlayer for final resampling to DSD256 (the highest my DAC supports).