Input/output error for watched folders in Mac Book Pro with Roon Server on Sonic Transporter

I have just moved my Roon server to a Sonic Transporter. I’ve successfully attached my Synology NAS as a watched folder. Now I am trying to add watched folders from my Mac Book Pro. But I don’t seem to be having any luck. The closest I get is to having the folder listed as watched, but with a red letter “input/output error”. What does this mean, and how do I fix the error? What is the kind of network path that I’m supposed to use?

@Carl I wonder if you can help with this? Or know someone who can?

Hi Anthony, I have little experience with Macs so I’m not the best guy to help you here … so this is only a rough guide:

• You need to setup an SMB network share on the Mac, so that the folder containing the audio on that Mac can be seen via the network.

• Once done, then in Roon add a watched folder using the networked section of the form.

Perhaps you could upload some screen shots and detail of the network share you are attempting to use.

I’ll leave a flag for @support, to follow up with you … or may by a Mac savvy Roon user can help.

Hey @Anthony_Langlois – why don’t you walk through these steps and let us know how it goes. They reference Lion but I don’t think things have changed too much.

Just flag @support if you get stuck. Thanks!

Thanks @support for that, although as far as I can see I have had the file sharing set up correctly throughout. I should have said that earlier. The closest I can get to contact is “permission denied” That happens when I put dashes in place of the spaces in my user name for the computer. When the spaces are there I get the input/output error.

(@andybob this is my current problem…).

Mac’s aren’t my bag sorry, but Mike should see you right.

Can you explain exactly how you’re adding that folder?

My expectation is that in Roon you would be typing the IP address you’re seeing in your Mac’s file sharing screen: