Intermittent distorted playback [fixed]

I am new to Roon today from JRiver 19. On playback Roon opens JRiver and I get occasional distortion sort of like dropouts. If I disable JRiver no sound. Exclusive mode is enabled. How do I play through Roon without jriver and avoid dropouts. I did not experience this issue with JRiver. Problem happens with both 16/44 and 24/192. Help! Thanks. Gordon graber

In Roon select your DAC and enable it, do.not select JRIVER asio. Make sure jriver is not running as it usually takes exclusive control of your audio.

what DAC do you have?

I am using an RME Babyface, which I have selected. If I don’t enable JRiver I get an error message on playback that no audio output device selected. I have tried disabling the RME in JRiver but then get no sound. How do I think I have eliminated the occasional distortion by increasing the buffer, but playback in Roon is through JRiver. How do I able disable JRiver without deleting the program from the pic? Thanks for your help. Gordon

In JRiver, you also have to setup which Audio Device you are going to use. How do you have JRiver setup? In JRiver, look under Tools, Option, Audio. At the top you should see Audio Device. What is it set to in JRiver?